Hall of Fame




The Sea Kings were missing 5 key players for the first month of the season, but still had an amazing run in 2015 with a 30-6 record. CDM lost in a five set barn-burner in the CIFSS Division 1 Finals and then rebounded to win the D2 Regional State Championship. The Sea Kings dropped the first two sets and regrouped to defeat CIFSS Division 2 Champion Oak Park 16-25, 25-27, 25-18, 25-18, 15-10. Ryan Moss (USC) led the way with 20 kills, 3 blocks and 13 digs. Sam Kobrine had 17 kills and 12 digs while Will Hunter had 9 kills and 8 blocks. Senior Augie Miller (Pepperdine) had 8 kills and 4 blocks. Kevin Fults (UCSB) had 4 kills, 8 blocks and led the team with 19 digs. Matt Ctvrtlik had 53 assists and 11 digs.


The Sea Kings capped off a 30-3 season by defeating the CIFSS D2 Champions Esperanza who had Jake Arnitz, the National High School Player of the Year.  Ryan Moss put away the last ball to help CDM defeat Esperanza, 25-18, 23-25, 25-16, 19-25, 15-9. Tommy Brooks was outstanding in the championship match with 21 kills, 5 blocks, 3 digs and an ace. Joey Martino (UCSB) had 5 of his 17 kills in the decisive fifth set, and Ryan Moss (USC) had 17 kills. Matt Ctvrtlik had 66 assists, 15 digs, 4 kills, 3 blocks and an ace.

The Sea Kings were ranked 4th in the nation after winning the D2 Regional State Championship.


The Sea Kings won their first Southern California Regional Championship by defeating Westview (San Diego), Santa Margarita and Westlake. CDM defeated Westview in the first round 25-22, 25-20, 25-20. In the barn burner semi-finals, the Sea Kings came from behind to defeat Santa Margarita 10-25, 29-27, 26-24, 23-25, 15-12.  CDM was led by Parker Brown’s 19 kills and 7 digs, Brennan Anderson’s  13 kills and 10 digs, Evan Dean’s (Pepperdine) 12 kills and 3 blocks and Nick Curci’s 29 assists and 7 digs and the steady passing of Chip Zucker who had 10 digs. In front of a spirited CDM crowd at Irvine Valley College, the Sea Kings defeated Westlake in the Championship match 17-25, 25-20, 25-23, 25-20.  CDM was paced by Brennan Anderson’s 14 kills, 5 blocks and 13 digs, Parker Brown’s 14 kills, 7 digs and 2 blocks, Spencer Haly’s 7 kills and 5 blocks, Remy Lamons 5 kills and 3 blocks and Jack Reed’s and Evan Dean’s 7 kills each. After a Westlake hitting error ended the match, the CDM fans rushed the floor in support of their team.

Shortly after completing its CIF and Southern California Regional Championships, CDM was awarded its first ESPN RISE and POWERADE National Championship Trophy.


The Sea Kings defeated Division II rival Santa Barbara in the finals 25-23, 25-22, 30-32, 27-25. CIF Player of the Year Phil Bannan (UCSD) lead CdM with 53 assists, 3 kills, 4 blocks, and 8 digs; Blaine Nielsen’s (UCSB) 16 kills and 11 digs; Gus Ellis (Stanford) 20 kills and 4 blocks. The Sea Kings began their celebration after Gus Ellis finished off the match with a kill.

Tyler Johnson #1 Adam Smith #2 Gus Ellis #3 Spencer Brown #4 Jeff Carlson #6 Alex Johnston #8 Phil Bannan #10 Brad McCoy #14 Blaine Nielsen #20 Dillon Flinn #21 Sam Stafford #22 Dylan Davis #35

Head Coach: Steve Conti Assistant Coaches: Curt Hanson & Josh Ko


CdM captured the Division II Championship by defeating Valencia 25-23, 25-18, 26-14. CdM was led by Scott Slaughter’s (UCSB) 10 kills; Tom Welch (UofA) 7 digs; Ben Applebee’s 7 digs; Adam Smith’s 16 digs; Phil Bannan’s 30 assists; and Division II Player of the Year Kevin Welch’s 13 kills and 4 aces. Kevin Welch finished the match with a kill off the block which started the dog pile celebration.

#1 Austin Brawner #4 Brad Stone #5 David Yi #7 Adam Smith #9 Grant Almquist #10 Phill Bannan #12 Blaine Nielsen #15 Tom Welch #18 Sam Stafford #19 Scott Slaughter #20 Shane Collins

#21 Ted Slaughter #22 Chris Reilly #24 Kevin Welch #25 Ben Applebee #31 Gabe Gonzalez #35 Spencer Brown #43 Gus Ellis

Head Coach: Steve Conti Assistant Coaches: Dave Pettker & Zach Miller


For the Sea Kings to claim the 2000 Division I title, they were going to have to beat back bay rival, Newport Harbor, for the fourth time that season. CdM won it’s first Division I Championship since 1989 with a 15-3, 6-15, 15-12, 9-15, 16-6 win. In it’s 19th consecutive victory CdM was led by Stampley (USC) 32 kills, 8 blocks, 17 digs; Ashuler (Michigan) 14 kills and 7 blocks; Hanson (CAL) 10 kills and senior setter and Division I Player of the year Kevin Hansen (Stanford) with 61 assists, 18 digs, 5 kills and 4 blocks.

#1 Alex Hanson #2 Charlie Alshuler #4 Kevin Hansen #5 Evan Burden #6 Chris Shephardson #7 Garrett Macklin #8 Cedric Chun #9 Ryan Inman #10 Brian Gallagher #11 Greg Stampley #12 Bart Welch #13 John Grod #14 Pat Flynn #15 Spencer Miller #16 Forrest Mack

Head Coach: Steve Conti Assistant Coaches: Clarke Brogger & Bill Christiansen


Corona del Mar defeated Santa Ynez in the Division III final 5-15,15-8,12-15,16-14, 15-13. Down two games to one, with Santa Ynez leading 14-11 in game four, the Sea Kings fought off nine championship points, which lead to the decisive fifth game. The 155 minute war ended with a back row kill from Dennis Alshuler.

#1 Greg Coon #2 Dennis Alshuler #4 Kevin Hansen #5 Greg Burden #6 Mike Jackson #7 Mike Pliha #8 Morgan Jackson #9 Alex Jekeli #10 Evan Burden #11 Greg Stampley #12 Gib Reese #13 Kent Turner #14 Alec Hanson #15 Mark Rowe

Head Coach: Steve Conti Assistant Coaches: Clark Brogger & Bill Christiansen


The 1989 CdM season started off slowly due to the absence of 3 starters who were playing basketball. The first match with the entire team was against Laguna. Laguna won in 4 very close matches. Two month’s later CdM faced Laguna again in the CIF semi finals and came out victorious. The CIF final was played at Marina High School and the opponent was Mira Costa who was hugely favored. After Mira Costa won the first game 18-16, Corona’s steadiness and blocking took over as the Sea Kings swept the next three games to win the Championship.

#1 Matt Cwiertnia #2 Johnny Hamiltom, #3 Matt Harrington #4 John Lyles #5 Chris Olsen #6 Steve Olsen #7 Jason Perkins #8 Chris Pliha #9 Ty Price #10 Carter Reese #11 Matt Spragins #12 Chad Steelberg

Head Coach: Charlie Brande Assistant Coaches: Joey Fuschetti & John Nguyen


The Sea Kings completed their pillage and plunder charge through the CIF playoffs in dramatic fashion defeating South Coast League Champions Dana Hills.

#1 Guy Putnins #2 Bob Zimmer #3 Mark Clemens #4 Tim Mitchell #5 Peter Nourse #9 Steve Peykoff #10 John Schisler #12 Jim Donahue #13 Walt Cromwell #14 Dave Seals

Head Coach: Matt Albade